Michigan Chamber of Commerce Releases Legislative Voting Record, Announces Earned Endorsements for State House and Michigan Senate

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce today released its 2009-2010 Legislative Voting Record - A Competitiveness Scorecard for Michigan. The purpose of this document is to provide the business community and other interested parties with a measure of how each member of the Michigan Legislature voted on a wide range of economic issues of importance to Michigan's job providers.

The 2009-2010 Legislative Voting Record includes roll call votes on key business climate issues such as: agriculture, campaign finance, environment, health care, human resources, legal reform, tax policy & budget, transportation, and workplace interference. The voting record includes 21 roll call votes in the State House and 24 roll call votes in the Michigan Senate.

"The Michigan Chamber is member-driven and policy-focused in our approach to business advocacy," said Michigan Chamber President & CEO Rich Studley. "This voting record shows how lawmakers voted on legislative priorities developed by Chamber members and approved by the Chamber's 84-member Board of Directors in January 2009."

"The good news is that a number of House and Senate lawmakers - 63 this session - walked the talk and came to Lansing and voted for legislation in support of jobs and the economy on 75 percent or better of key roll call votes, which is the threshold for an earned endorsement from the Michigan Chamber," added Studley. "Ten of these lawmakers went the extra mile to earn a perfect score on the Chamber's 2009-2010 Voting Record."

"The bad news is that, while almost every state lawmaker talked in their district about the need for economic growth and job creation in Michigan, many missed one opportunity after another to support Michigan job providers," Studley noted.

"The vote analysis in this report illustrates a stark difference between House and Senate leadership and their respective caucuses on key business climate issues," said Jim Holcomb, Vice President for Business Advocacy & Associate General Counsel for the Michigan Chamber. "The 2009-2010 legislative session has been marked by a troubling unwillingness of many legislators to fulfill their campaign promises to make the difficult decisions needed to put Michigan on the path to economic recovery."

"Despite the challenges facing our state, we are optimistic that our state can emerge from this economic recession stronger and better prepared for the future," said Studley. "As part of our strategic plan, the Michigan Chamber will continue to provide leadership through political action, which includes holding lawmakers accountable for action or inaction on key issues."

The Michigan Chamber's Legislative Voting Record serves as the basis for campaign endorsements for incumbent legislators. Any incumbent legislator seeking re-election to the same office who scores 75 percent or better on the Chamber's Competitiveness Scorecard receives an earned endorsement. Any lawmaker who achieves a perfect score is recognized by the Michigan Chamber as a "Champion of Commerce."

The following five State Senators are seeking re-election and have received an earned endorsement from the Michigan Chamber: Mark Jansen (R-Grand Rapids); Roger Kahn (R-Saginaw); Mike Nofs (R-Battle Creek); John Pappageorge (R-Troy); and Randy Richardville (R-Monroe).

The following 23 State Representatives are seeking re-election and have received an earned endorsement from the Michigan Chamber: Dave Agema (R-Grandville); James Bolger (R-Marshall); Hugh Crawford (R-Novi); Kevin Daley (R-Lum); Cindy Denby (R-Fowlerville); Bob Genetski (R-Saugatuck); Gail Haines (R-Waterford); Joe Haveman (R-Holland); Ken Horn (R-Frankenmuth); Marty Knollenberg (R-Troy); Eileen Kowall (R-White Lake); Ken Kurtz (R-Coldwater); Matt Lori (R-Constantine); Pete Lund (R-Shelby Twp.); Tom McMillin (R-Rochester Hills); Chuck Moss (R-Birmingham); Paul Opsommer (R-DeWitt); Bill Rogers (R-Brighton); Wayne Schmidt (R-Traverse City); Paul Scott (R-Grand Blanc); Jim Stamas (R-Midland); Sharon Tyler (R-Niles); and John Walsh (R-Livonia).

"In addition to these 28 lawmakers receiving earned endorsements, we are encouraged to note that, despite this challenging legislative session, three members of the State House and seven members of the State Senate scored a perfect 100 percent on the Michigan Chamber's 2009-2010 Legislative Voting Record," said Bob LaBrant, Senior Vice President of Political Action & General Counsel for the Michigan Chamber. "That's a remarkable accomplishment."

The following lawmakers will be recognized as a "Champion of Commerce" at the Michigan Chamber's 2010 Future Forum & Annual Meeting on September 14th at the Kellogg Center in East Lansing:

  State Representatives:
  --  David Agema (R-Grandville)
  --  Kenneth Kurtz (R-Coldwater)
  --  Pete Lund (R-Shelby Twp.)

  State Senators:
  --  Mike Bishop (R-Rochester)
  --  Cameron Brown (R-Fawn River Twp.)
  --  Valde Garcia (R-Howell)
  --  Jud Gilbert (R-Algonac)
  --  Wayne Kuipers (R-Holland)
  --  Alan Sanborn (R-Richmond)
  --  Gerald Van Woerkom (R-Muskegon)

To access the Michigan Chamber's 2009-2010 Legislative Voting Record, click here.

Michigan Chamber of Commerce is a statewide business organization representing approximately 6,800 employers, trade associations and local chambers of commerce. The Michigan Chamber was established in 1959 to be an advocate for Michigan's job providers in the legislative, political and legal process. The Michigan Chamber represents businesses of every size and type in all 83 counties of the state. It is one of only four state chambers of commerce in the nation accredited by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

SOURCE: Michigan Chamber of Commerce

CONTACT: Rich Studley or Bob LaBrant, both of Michigan Chamber of
Commerce, +1-517-371-2100

Web Site: http://www.michamber.com/