Michigan Chamber of Commerce Announces Endorsements for State House Candidates in Open Seats and Competitive Races

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce today announced campaign endorsements for State House candidates in open seats and competitive races.

"We are pleased to announce the Michigan Chamber's endorsement of 32 outstanding individuals for the State House (28 Republicans and four Democrats)," said Michigan Chamber President & CEO Rich Studley.

"Michigan Chamber campaign endorsements for open seats are based upon candidate questionnaires, personal interviews and member input from the Chamber's Political Action Committee (PAC) Board of Directors," explained Bob LaBrant, the Michigan Chamber's Senior Vice President of Political Affairs.

"The Michigan Chamber will be making additional endorsements following the August 5th Primary," added LaBrant. "In some primary contests, we found the field of candidates to have positions favorable toward job creation and economic development in Michigan. Rather than make multiple endorsements, we have chosen to let the primary process work itself out."

Following are the Michigan Chamber's endorsements for the open seats and competitive races in the State House:


  District        Candidate                Home
  11              Anthony Bradford         Detroit
  13              Andrew Kandrevas         Southgate
  19              John Walsh               Livonia
  21              Todd LaJoy               Canton Township
  23              Burl Adkins              Grosse Ile
  24              Bryan Brandenburg        St. Claire Shores
  32              John Accavitti           Armada
  36              Pete Lund                Shelby Township
  37              Paul Welday              Farmington Hills
  38              Hugh Crawford            Novi
  39              Amy Peterman             West Bloomfield
  43              Gail Haines              Lake Angelus
  44              Eileen Kowall            White Lake
  51              Vince Lorraine           Fenton
  58              Don Shemel               Coldwater
  59              Matt Lori                Constantine
  63              Jase Bolger              Marshall
  66              Bill Rogers              Brighton
  72              Linda Steil              Grand Rapids
  76              Roy Schmidt              Grand Rapids
  88              Shelly Edgerton          Plainwell
  90              Joe Haveman              Holland
  98              Jim Stamas               Midland
  101             Mike McManus             Lake Leelanau
  104             Wayne Schmidt            Traverse City
  106             Peter Pettalia           Presque Isle
  108             Mike Falcon              Gladstone


  District        Candidate                Home
  20              Jerry Vorva              Northville
  65              Ray Snell                Blackman Township
  75              Dan Tietema              Grand Rapids
  84              Anna Kabot               Bad Axe
  91              Holly Hughes             White River Township

The Michigan Chamber will be releasing its 2007-2008 Legislative Voting Record - A Competitiveness Scorecard for Michigan, which includes earned endorsements for candidates seeking re-election to the State House, later this month.

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce is a statewide business advocacy organization representing over 7,100 employers of every type and size in all 83 counties in Michigan. The Michigan Chamber was established in 1959 to be an advocate for Michigan's job providers in the legislative, political and legal process.

The Michigan Chamber PAC ranks 26th among Michigan's top 150 political action committees, according to an April report by the non-partisan Michigan Campaign Finance Network. The report lists the PAC at $180,606, up 20.7 percent from the 2006 election cycle.

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

SOURCE: Michigan Chamber of Commerce

CONTACT: Bob LaBrant or Phil Guyeskey of Michigan Chamber of Commerce,

Web site: http://www.michamber.com/