Michigan Chamber of Commerce Political Action Committee Announces State Legislative Endorsements

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce Political Action Committee today announced campaign endorsements for the State Legislature.

"With the August 8th Primary Election fast approaching, I am pleased to announce the Michigan Chamber's endorsement of 19 outstanding individuals for the Michigan Senate and 65 excellent candidates for the State House," said Michigan Chamber President & CEO Jim Barrett.

"The Michigan Chamber's support for incumbents seeking re-election to the State House or Michigan Senate is based upon how each lawmaker voted on a wide range of key economic issues over the past 18 months," said Bob LaBrant, the Michigan Chamber's Senior Vice President of Political Affairs.

"Chamber campaign endorsements for open seats and challenger races are based upon voting records, candidate questionnaires and personal interviews," LaBrant further explained.

"The Michigan Chamber PAC will be making additional endorsements following the August 8th Primary," added LaBrant. "In some primary contests we found the field of candidates to be favorable toward job creation and economic development in Michigan. Rather than make multiple endorsements, we have chosen to let the primary process work itself out."

Following are the Michigan Chamber's endorsements for the State Legislature:

  Earned Endorsements of Incumbents Seeking Re-Election - 17

  District    Candidate            Home
  6           Laura Toy            (Livonia)
  11          Alan Sanborn         (Richmond)
  12          Michael Bishop       (Rochester)
  15          Nancy Cassis         (Novi)
  16          Cameron Brown        (Sturgis)
  20          Tom George           (Portage)
  21          Ron Jelinek          (Three Oaks)
  22          Valde Garcia         (Howell)
  24          Patti Birkholz       (Saugatuck)
  25          Jud Gilbert          (Algonac)
  29          Bill Hardiman        (Kentwood)
  30          Wayne Kuipers        (Holland)
  33          Alan Cropsey         (Dewitt)
  34          Gerald Van Woerkom   (Muskegon)
  35          Michelle McManus     (Lake Leelanau)
  36          Tony Stamas          (Midland)
  37          Jason Allen          (Traverse City)

  Open Seats - 2
  District    Candidate            Home
  17          Randy Richardville   (Monroe)
  32          Roger Kahn           (Saginaw)

  Earned Endorsements of Incumbents Seeking Re-Election - 47

  District    Candidate            Home

  1           Edward Gaffney      (Grosse Pointe Farms)
  19          John Pastor         (Livonia)
  21          Phil LaJoy          (Canton)
  24          Jack Brandenburg    (Harrison Twp.)
  30          Tory Rocca          (Sterling Heights)
  32          Daniel Acciavatti   (Chesterfield)
  36          Brian Palmer        (Romeo)
  38          Craig DeRoche       (Novi)
  39          David Law           (Commerce Twp.)
  43          Fran Amos           (Waterford)
  44          John Stakoe         (Highland)
  45          John Garfield       (Rochester Hills)
  46          James Marleau       (Lake Orion)
  47          Joe Hune            (Hamburg)
  51          David Robertson     (Grand Blanc)
  58          Bruce Caswell       (Hillsdale)
  59          Rick Shaffer        (Three Rivers)
  61          Jacob Hoogendyk     (Kalamazoo)
  62          Mike Nofs           (Battle Creek)
  63          Lorence Wenke       (Kalamazoo)
  64          Rick Baxter         (Concord)
  65          Leslie Mortimer     (Jackson)
  66          Chris Ward          (Brighton)
  70          Judy Emmons         (Sheridan)
  71          Rick Jones          (Grand Ledge)
  72          Glenn Steil         (Grand Rapids)
  73          Tom Pearce          (Rockford)
  77          Kevin Green         (Wyoming)
  78          Neal Nitz           (Baroda)
  79          John Proos          (St. Joseph)
  80          Tonya Schuitmaker   (Lawton)
  81          Phil Pavlov         (St. Clair Twp.)
  82          John Stahl          (North Branch)
  85          Richard Ball        (Laingsburg)
  86          Dave Hildenbrand    (Lowell)
  88          Fulton Sheen        (Plainwell)
  90          Bill Huizenga       (Zeeland)
  91          David Farhat        (Muskegon)
  97          Tim Moore           (Farwell)
  98          John Moolenaar      (Midland)
  99          Bill Caul           (Mt. Pleasant)
  100         Goeff Hansen        (Hart)
  101         David Palsrok       (Manistee)
  102         Darwin Booher       (Evart)
  104         Howard Walker       (Traverse City)
  105         Kevin Elsenheimer   (Bellaire)
  108         Tom Casperson       (Escanaba)

  Open Seats -13
  District    Candidate            Home
  20          Mark Abbo           (Northville)
  29          Hayes Jones         (Pontiac)
  33          Kim Meltzer         (Clinton Twp.)
  40          Chuck Moss          (Birmingham)
  41          Marty Knollenberg   (Troy)
  56          John Manor          (Monroe)
  67          Donald Vickers      (Leslie)
  75          Tim Doyle           (Grand Rapids)
  84          John Hunt           (Bad Axe)
  87          Brian Calley        (Portland)
  89          Mike Hewitt         (Grand Haven)
  94          Kenneth Horn        (Frankenmuth)
  110         Dave Schmidt        (Ontonagon)

  Challengers - 5
  District    Candidate           Home
  52          Shannon Brown       (Manchester)
  55          Matt Milosch        (Lambertville)
  57          Jim Koehn           (Adrian)
  83          Ed Smith            (Lexington)
  107         Jay Duggan          (Petoskey)

SOURCE: Michigan Chamber of Commerce

CONTACT: Phil Guyeskey or Bob LaBrant, +1-517-371-2100, both of Michigan
Chamber of Commerce

Web site: http://www.michamber.com/