Michigan Chamber of Commerce Announces Endorsements for State House Candidates in Open Seats and Challenger Races

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce today announced campaign endorsements for State House candidates in open seats and challenger races.

"We are pleased to announce the Michigan Chamber's endorsement of 28 outstanding individuals for the State House," said Michigan Chamber President & CEO Rich Studley.

"Michigan Chamber campaign endorsements for open seats are based upon candidate questionnaires, personal interviews and member input from the Chamber's Political Action Committee (PAC) Board of Directors," explained Bob LaBrant, the Michigan Chamber's Senior Vice President of Political Affairs.

"The Michigan Chamber will be making additional endorsements following the August 3rd primary," added LaBrant. "In some primary contests, we found the field of candidates to have positions favorable toward job creation and economic development in Michigan. Rather than make multiple endorsements, we have chosen to let the primary process work itself out."

Following are the Michigan Chamber's endorsements for the open seats and challenger races in the State House:

  District                  Candidate             Home
  --------                  ---------             ----
  15th                      Suzanne Sareini       Dearborn
  20th                      Kurt Heise            Plymouth
  26th                      Ken Rosen             Royal Oak
  33rd                      Pete Vitale           Clinton Township
  46th                      Brad Jacobsen         Oxford
  52nd                      Mark Ouimet           Ann Arbor
  55th                      Mary Kay Thayer       Lambertville
  57th                      Jim Van Doren         Tipton
  61st                      Margaret O'Brien      Portage
  65th                      Mike Shirkey          Clark Lake
  73rd                      Peter MacGregor       Rockford
  75th                      Bing Goei             Grand Rapids
  79th                      Al Pscholka           Stevensville
  80th                      Aric Nesbitt          Lawton
  81st                      Jud Gilbert           Lansing
  83rd                      Paul Muxlow           Brown City
  87th                      Michael Callton       Nashville
  89th                      Amanda Price          Holland
  91st                      Holly Hughes          Montague
  97th                      Joel Johnson          Clare
  99th                      Christine Alwood      Mt. Pleasant
  100th                     Marc Libants          Newaygo
  105th                     Greg MacMaster        Kewadin
  106th                     Peter Pettalia        Presque Isle
  107th                     Frank Foster          Pellston

  District                  Candidate             Home
  --------                  ---------             ----
  56th                      Dale Zorn             Ida
  64th                      Jane Grover           Jackson
  101st                     Ray Franz             Onekama

The Michigan Chamber will be releasing its 2009-2010 Legislative Voting Record - A Competitiveness Scorecard for Michigan, which includes earned endorsements for candidates seeking re-election to either the State House or Michigan Senate, in July.

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce is a statewide business advocacy organization representing approximately 6,800 employers of every type and size in all 83 counties in Michigan. The Michigan Chamber was established in 1959 to be an advocate for Michigan's job providers in the legislative, political and legal process.

The Michigan Chamber PAC ranks 18th among Michigan's top 150 political action committees, according to an April report by the Michigan Campaign Finance Network.

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

SOURCE: Michigan Chamber of Commerce

CONTACT: Jim Holcomb or Phil Guyeskey, both of Michigan Chamber of
Commerce, +1-517-371-2100

Web Site: http://www.michamber.com/