Five Legislators Receive 'Champions of Commerce' Award From Michigan Chamber of Commerce For 2003-2004 Voting Record

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce has announced that five state legislators will receives the Chamber's "Champion of Commerce" award in recognition of their 100 percent scores on the Chamber's 2003-2004 Job Providers Index (JPI).

State representatives receiving perfect ratings are: Rep. Stephen Ehardt (83rd District-Lexington) Philip J. LaJoy (21st District-Canton), John Moolenaar (98th District-Midland) and Mickey Mortimer (65th District-Horton). In the Michigan Senate, Michelle McManus (35th District-Lake Leelanau) also received a 100 percent rating.

"Actions often speak louder than words," said Michigan Chamber President & CEO Jim Barrett. "Over the past 18 months, these five lawmakers have made an extraordinary effort to support Michigan's job providers by casting their votes in favor of legislation to encourage business investment and employment growth. We're grateful for their support. They are true champions of commerce."

The 2003-2004 JPI covers a wide range of business issues. This year, the voting record in the State House includes 21 key roll call votes on topics including: education, environmental quality, human resources, regulatory affairs, tax policy and tort reform. The voting record in the Michigan Senate consists of 19 key votes on similar issues.

The Chamber will release the complete voting record and announce campaign announcements for State House incumbents seeking re-election tomorrow, July 20.

The Michigan Chamber of Commerce is a statewide business organization which represents more than 6,300 employers, trade associations and local chambers of commerce. The Michigan Chamber was established in 1959 to be an advocate for Michigan's job providers in the legislative, political and legal process.

SOURCE: Michigan Chamber of Commerce

CONTACT: Robert LaBrant of Michigan Chamber of Commerce,

Web site: